Submissions for 2016 are now closed

The winner is announced at the annual meeting and listed in the history section

The Society for Judgment and Decision Making is inviting submissions for the Hillel Einhorn New Investigator Award. The purpose of this award is to encourage outstanding work by new researchers. Individuals are eligible if they have not yet completed their Ph.D. or if they have completed their Ph.D. within the last five years (on or after July 1, 2011). To be considered for the award, please submit a journal-style manuscript on any topic related to judgment and decision making.

In the case of co-authored papers, if the authors are all new investigators they can be considered jointly; otherwise, the new investigator(s) must be the primary author(s) and should be the primary source of ideas. Submissions in dissertation format will not be considered, but articles based on a dissertation are encouraged. Both reprints of published articles and manuscripts that have not yet been published are acceptable. We ask for submissions with names, affiliations, and author notes removed for blind review.

There has been a change in policy so that a given paper can only be submitted for consideration once. This goes into effect in 2017, meaning that papers submitted in 2015 may be also submitted for consideration this year, but papers submitted this year cannot be submitted for consideration in future years.

Submissions will be judged by a committee appointed by the Society. To be considered, submissions must be received by 19 June, 2016. The committee will announce the results to the participants by 15 October 2016. The award will be announced and presented at the annual meeting of the Society for Judgment and Decision Making. The winner will be invited to give a presentation at that meeting. If the winner cannot obtain full funding from his/her own institution to attend the meeting, an application may be made to the Society for supplemental travel needs.

Web page maintained by Jonathan Baron; image by Gaëlle Villejoubert.