Society for Judgment and Decision Making

The Society for Judgment and Decision Making

The Society for Judgment and Decision Making is an interdisciplinary academic organization dedicated to the study of normative, descriptive, and prescriptive theories of judgments and decisions. Its members include psychologists, economists, organizational researchers, decision analysts, and other decision researchers. The Society's primary event is its Annual Meeting, at which Society members present their research. It also publishes the journal Judgment and Decision Making.

Boston skyline

The 2016 meeting will take place in Boston, MA, November 18-21. Abstracts may be submitted from May 3 through June 19. Notifications of those selected for talks or posters should be sent out by the end of July. Registration details should be available some time in August.


The last (2015) SJDM conference was held in Chicago, Illinois, November 20-23.

Complete final program, including talks presented and posters.

Some talks and posters from the meeting.
(Submit your presentation here.)

Video of tribute to Paul Slovic

Interview of Daniel Kahneman (Leif Nelson, interviewer; audio recording).


Tentative schedule for future meetings:
2017 - Vancouver, BC, Canada, November 10-13
2018 - New Orleans, LA, November 16-19
2019 - Montreal, QC, Canada, November 15-18

SJDM meetings are in tandem with those of the Psychonomic Society, which provides assistance to us in various ways.


Mailing lists: Members of SJDM are added to the sjdm-members mailing list, which is for communications about society business such as meetings and elections. It also provides a password for the members section of this site and a monthly reminder of it. This is a very low-volumue mailing list. You cannot unsubscribe from it. It is the only way the society has to communicate with members. Please make sure your email address is the one you use to receive mail. If you are a member of this society and you are not getting mail about Society elections and other business, please write baron@psych.upenn.edu.

The jdm-society mailing list is much higher volume and is open to all for reading and posting, but moderated.

Gmail for several months, ending February 27, 2015, considered most of the list mail as spam. If you use Gmail and did not check your spam or create a filter for sjdm.org, make sure to check the archives to see what you missed.


Decision Science News always has the latest conference deadlines, jobs, and announcements.
 Subscribe by email (one email per week, easy unsubscribe) rss icon RSS


2015 Executive board

Dan Goldstein (dan@dangoldstein.com), President
Rick Larrick (rick.larrick@duke.edu), President Elect
Ellen Peters (peters.498@osu.edu), Past President
Katy Milkman (kmilkman@wharton.upenn.edu), Elected Member 2015-2018
Shane Frederick (shane.frederick@yale.edu), Elected Member 2014-2017
Deborah Small (deborahs@wharton.upenn.edu), Elected Member 2015-2016
Jennifer Dannals (jdannals@stanford.edu), Student Representative 2016
Bud Fennema (fennema@fsu.edu), Secretary-Treasurer
Jon Baron (baron@psych.upenn.edu), Webmaster
Jon Baron (baron@psych.upenn.edu), Journal Editor
Dan Goldstein (dan@dangoldstein.com), Newsletter Editor
Nina Mazar (nina.mazar@rotman.utoronto.ca), 2016 Program Committee Chair

Kate Wessels (Kate.Wessels@behavioralpolicy.org), 2016 Conference Coordinator


Web site maintained by Jon Baron, Dan Goldstein, Dave Hardisty, Jon Westfall, and Saiwing Yeung, with help from others. Backups are here. and here. The mailing lists don't work on these.